ACC Awards 2020

As we slowly emerge from lockdown we all need a cause for some celebration. So for the final week of term we will be shouting out about all the amazing successes and achievements that have happened this year in spite of everything! There will be regional and national awards, a brand-new ACC Showcase website, as well as the announcement of the winners of the ACC Experience projects. On top of this will be centre-based activities for you to get involved in.

First of all a big thank you to all those who engaged in this year’s Awards by nominating yourself or a fellow student. Also let’s also make some noise for all those who submitted work for the ACC Experience. We have had a fantastic response from all centres!

Here are the highlights for the week:


Tuesday 30th June at 12 noon

This year our Awards shows are being streamed out from each centre at 12 noon via Twitch. Find out who has won awards at your centre (it could be you), check out performances and other student content and hear your centre manager give a summary of what has been an extraordinary year. These events have been organised and managed by Events students and staff, so a big thanks to all those teams who have worked so hard to pull this together. The Twitch streams are as follows:


Tuesday 30th June at 13:00 approx

Following directly on from the centre showcases will be the National Awards Showcase announcing the overall winners of the industry awards. Hosted by former Birmingham student and pro-musician, El Sam, this will include a summary of the year from ACC CEO, Jason Beaumont. The Awards have been exclusively judged by industry judges who will announce each award. You can find out who they are below. 


Thursday 2nd July at 12 noon

This event will be streamed from the ACC Twitch account and will announce award winners for the June industry projects in Music, Media, Games and Studio Sound. The event will be hosted by vlogger and musician, Helen Anderson and will feature updates from B-Side and N:Tone, Mediatonic and producer Adrian Bushby. Make sure you stream here.


A website celebrating award winners and other successes from the year will be launched by the end of the week. This is a project Events students and staff have also been working on. Keep checking the URL for when it goes live.


Meet the judges who will be deciding this year’s national industry awards:

Media judges are:

Best Photo: Peter Heller – Rawlight Photography. Peter specialises in still life photography shooting a wide variety of subjects ranging from models to private jets to landscapes.

Best Video: Lester Mordue – Promax who create content marketing in TV and Digital industries. He has worked previously with globally recognised brands including Disney, Discovery, Sky and MTV.

Best Design: Fiona Dungay – Flourish design agency working in sports, health and fitness, education and retail. Fiona has previously worked with agencies including Digitas and Saatchi.

Games judges are:

Best Game Art: Georgia Adamson – Character Artist at Jagex. Jagex is based in Cambridge and is best known for RuneScape and Old School RuneScape, the world’s largest free-to-play massively multiplayer online role-playing games. It also makes Home of Living Games.

Best Game Design: Catherine Wooley – Game Designer at Media Molecule. Media Molecule, based in Guilford, are award-winning creators of Tearaway Unfolded for PS4, LittleBigPlanet and LittleBigPlanet 2 for PS3, Tearaway for PS Vita and Dreams on PS4.

Best Game: Arthur Parsons – Head of Design at TT Games. TT are multi-platform LEGO Game Developers, based in the UK. They are a subsidiary of Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment. T Games has developed numerous hit LEGO® videogame franchises with cherished brands including Batman, Harry Potter, Marvel Super Heroes and Indiana Jones, as well as popular titles such as LEGO® Marvel’s Avengers, LEGO® Lord of the Rings, LEGO® Jurassic World, LEGO® Dimensions™, LEGO® Worlds and many, many more.

Music judges are:

Best band: Phil Taggert: As well as his work as BBC Radio 1 DJ, Phil has worked as a presenter as part of BBC Three’s coverage of Radio 1 Big Weekend and as the host of Channel 4’s new music show Best Before. He is also part of the online music platform Vevo. Phil runs his own record label, Hometown Records, and hosts the club night Slacker.

Best Solo Artist: Bessie Turner – Based in Suffolk, guitarist and singer Bessie Turner started performing when she was 18, juggling her day-job as a pot-washer with more poetic ambitions.  Still only 23, Bessie released her debut ‘Big Sleep’ on her own label Don’t Try Records and soon found herself played on BBC Radio and appearing at some of the UK’s biggest music festivals.

Best Song: Crispin Hunt: Chair of Ivor Novello Awards. The Ivors Academy is the UK’s independent professional association for music creators. They are a community of diverse, talented songwriters and composers across all styles. Their talent creates the music that the world loves.

Best Producer: Cassell the Beatmaker: an Ivor Novello award winning song-writer, producer and world renowned drummer. Cassell’s musical career has lead him to work with an impressive list of established and new artists including names such as Plan B, The Streets and Akala.

Best Sound Recording: Prash “Engine-Earz” Mistry is a Grammy-nominated mixing/mastering engineer and producer who runs Forwa3DStudios in London. He has worked with 2 x BRIT winner and Drake/Kendrick collaborator, Jorja Smith, and shares the 2018 Mercury (and Brit) nomination for her debut album. He recently mastered the Prodigy’s latest UK Number 1 album No Tourists.