find out about Assessment

Get assessed like the real world

Our college courses are assessed via coursework-based vocational qualifications rather than exam-based GCSEs and A Levels.

Coursework assessment is much more relevant to the world of work, in that most jobs are be based around completion of tasks and projects.



Our college course qualifications and courses are available at the following levels:

  • Level 1 = low GCSE equivalent (grades 1-3).
  • Level 2 = GCSE equivalent (grades 4-9)
  • Level 3 = A Level equivalent
  • Level 4 = working at first year degree standard or level

All courses involve the completion of project-based units.

These assess your skills in one specific aspect of your chosen subject.

Each qualification has a set of core, or mandatory units, which you must successfully complete, and a set of option units.

Most options will be set via the projects, but there may be opportunities to take alternative or additional units through negotiation.


Most units are assessed by your course tutors.

However, some qualifications have a set of externally-assessed units which are marked by a representative of the awarding body.

These units will normally be delivered within a given time frame and may involve some online exam-based content. You must successfully complete these units to pass certain courses.


Each unit and qualification is graded according to a scale of Pass, Merit and Distinction.

There is a big difference between the value of these grades.

For example, for a Level 3 Extended Diploma (A Level standard), a Pass grade is worth one A Level, while a Distinction is worth 3 A Levels.


Level 3 qualifications generate UCAS points so that you can progress to university. The number of points you will get will depends significantly upon your grade:

  • Pass: 48 points
  • Merit: 96 points
  • Distinction: 144 up to 168 points

You will need to check what the entry requirements are for the degree courses you are interested in.